Kaw Valley Kickball League
Most Fun Wins, Since 2002!
About KVKL
Board and League Information
Board Meeting Minutes
Financial Information
Charity
Our Charitable Efforts
Upcoming Charity Events
Sponsorships
Hobbs Legacy Project
The League
Teams
Rules
Code Of Conduct
Ref Test
Games
Fields
Schedule
2025 Season
2024 Season
2023 Season
2022 Season
2021 Season
2019 Season
2017 Season
Standings
Statistics
Playoffs
Scoresheets
KVKL Talk
KVKL Podcast
Sundays in the Park
League Facebook
Members Facebook
Ref Test
Full Name (required)
Email (required)
Team Name (required)
1.
What is the "Defensive Diamond"?
Deselect Answer
The space made if straight lines were drawn between all of the bases.
The space made by measuring 35 feet from home plate along each foul line, then from those points to the pitching rubber (40 feet from home base) (AKA Encroachment lines)
The entire field including the outfield.
The entire field including the outfield and foul territory.
None
Hint
2.
Situation: There is a baserunner on 3rd base and there is 1 out. The kicker kicks a ball in the air into foul territory and the right fielder catches the ball. The baserunner on third base runs home after the catch. How many outs are there and what is the call?
Deselect Answer
2 outs and the runner who started the play on 3rd base is safely home and the run counts.
3 outs, the second out from the catch by the right fielder and the baserunner who started on 3rd base is out for running on a catch in foul territory and crossing home illegally.
2 outs, the baserunner who started the play on 3rd has to return to 3rd base for running on a caught ball in foul territory.
None
Hint
3.
Players A, B, and C are kicking in that order in the lineup. Player A kicks and successfully makes it to first base. Player C kicks next, safely making it to first and moving Player A to second. The referee then realizes that Player B was skipped. What should happen?
Deselect Answer
Nothing. The ref should say nothing unless the defense notices.
The team should be warned, and play should continue as usual.
Players B and C are both out.
Player C is out, Player A must return to first, and Player B kicks next. Player A must return to 1st base.
None
Hint
4.
How many steps are you allowed when leading off of a base before the kick?
Deselect Answer
As many as you want.
None. You are not allowed to lead off base.
One step away from the base.
None
Hint
5.
Player D shows up at 5:20 for their teams 5:00 game, which is now in the fourth inning. The team is already using all 12 kicking spots. Are they allowed to be added to the lineup?
Deselect Answer
No. You can not add late players to the lineup.
Yes. They may share a spot, so long as the rest of the lineup remains legal.
No. If they were only using 11 spots they could be added to the bottom, but as it is the lineup is full.
None
Hint
6.
Player A twists their ankle in a hole in the outfield, and leaves the game. The team still has enough players of the same gender. What should happen to the lineup when Player A's kicking spot comes up?
Deselect Answer
The spot is scratched from the lineup, no out.
They must suck it up and kick.
It is an automatic out.
None
Hint
7.
How many people from the offensive team (excluding baserunners) are allowed to be outside of the dugout?
Deselect Answer
All of them.
None.
Two base coaches.
Two base coaches, and the next two kickers.
None
Hint
8.
Runner on third. A line drive is kicked and batted in the air by the 3rd baseman. Runner then leaves the base and heads home. Ball is caught in the air by the rover who then touches 3rd base. Is the runner out?
Deselect Answer
Yes, runner didn't tag up.
No, runner left the base after the ball made contact with a defensive player.
None
9.
Situation: Bases loaded, nobody out. Ball is kicked on the ground to first baseman, who tags the runner going to second, touches first base, then throws to home plate. Catcher catches the ball and tags home plate. This is a triple play!
Deselect Answer
True, because all the bases were touched before the runners got there.
False. The force at home was eliminated when the kicker was put out at first base.
None
10.
After a successful single kick Player F, while overrunning first base, thinks to try to stretch it into a double and turns towards second, taking a few steps. Player F then decides to play it safe and begins walking back to first base. The First Baseman tags Player F with the ball before they make it back to the base. What is the call?
Deselect Answer
Player F is safe. You are allowed to overrun first base and cannot be tagged while walking back.
Player F is out. While you can overrun first, you can be tagged out if you make a move towards second.
None
Hint
11.
Player M kicks a double and accidentally doesn't tag 1st base as they travel safely to 2nd base. Is Player M out?
Deselect Answer
Yes, automatic out called by the ref.
Yes, if the defense notices and tags the player.
Yes, if the defense notices and tags 1st base.
No, leading off is allowed.
B & C
None
Hint
12.
Situation: There are zero outs, there is a runner on 1st, and a runner on 3rd. A ball is kicked into the air and bounces off a outfielder. The runner on 1st then leaves leaves 1st base toward 2nd. The outfielder then catches the ball without it ever touching the ground. Then the runner on 3rd base leaves 3rd toward home. The ball is thrown to and controlled by the pitcher before either runner reaches their next base. The pitcher immediately takes the ball to tag 1st base. The runner that was at 1st before the play is now stopped on 2nd base, and the runner that was on 3rd base has crossed the home place. So, how many outs are there after the play ends?
Deselect Answer
0 outs
1 out
2 outs
3 outs
None
Hint
13.
Player J is a baserunner on first base when Player K comes up to kick. The kick bounces in front of The First Baseman, who then takes possession of the ball, tags first base with their foot, and then tags Player J, who is still standing on the base. What is the call?
Deselect Answer
Double Play! Player J and Player K are both out.
Player K and Player J are both safe.
Player K is out, but Player J remains safe.
None
Hint
14.
Who is responsible for returning equipment to Hobbs after each set of games?
Deselect Answer
The losing team of the late game.
The winning team of the late game.
The winning team of the early game.
The team that brought it.
None
Hint
15.
The Kicker bunts and begins running to first base. The Catcher, stationed to the 1st base side of home plate moves towards the ball, and collides with The Kicker. What should happen?
Deselect Answer
The Kicker is awarded first base. The Catcher must yield to a runner on their way to first base.
The Kicker is out. It is up to the runner to avoid contact with fielders making a play on the ball.
This is considered encroachment (2 bases awarded).
None
Hint
16.
Can balls and strikes be called?
Deselect Answer
Yes, they should always be called.
No, never.
Yes, but only at the head-ref's discretion and when a kicker continues to let many kickable pitches (determined by the head-ref) pass by, and/or no kickable pitches are given.
None
Hint
17.
Beside the foul lines and how the ball lands, what can be used to determine if a ball is kicked foul?
Deselect Answer
The placement of the kicker's plant foot when the ball is kicked.
The placement of the kicker's kicking foot.
Where the ball is when it is kicked.
None of the above.
None
Hint
18.
Player H is a baserunner on third base, with the bases loaded. A line-drive kick hits player H while they are standing on the base, in fair territory. Player H runs home, and everyone else advances successfully. What should be the call?
Deselect Answer
Player H is out because they were forced from the base. The run does not count, everyone else is safe.
Player H is out as well as the baserunner advancing from 2nd to 3rd base.
Player H is safe because he was on the base. The run counts, everyone else is safe.
None
Hint
19.
Player M is on 1st base. Player P kicks a pop-up to the outfield. The defensive player catches the ball. Player M leaves 1st base before the outfield makes initial contact with the ball. Is Player M out?
Deselect Answer
Yes, automatic out called by the ref.
Yes, if the defense notices and tags the player.
Yes, if the defense notices and tags 1st base.
No, leading off is allowed.
B & C
None
Hint
20.
Player E is up to kick with a runner on third, no outs, and no fouls. When they kick their plant foot crosses the front of home plate, and the ref yells "Foul!". The ball is caught in the outfield, and after properly tagging up the runner on third makes it safely home. What should happen?
Deselect Answer
Player E must kick again (do-over) and the runner must return to third.
Player E is out, and the run counts.
Player E is out, and the runner must return to third.
None
Hint
Time's up